The Working Groups

A key step in setting up the Innovation Strategy was to define Thuringia’s five most promising fields of innovation.  A Working Group has been set up for each of these fields with the task of supporting the field-specific implementation of the Thuringian Innovation Strategy. The members of the Working Groups meet for regularly scheduled Working Group sessions.

The key tasks of the Working Groups are as follows:

  • Develop recommendations for thematic focuses and specific measures (this particularly includes assisting in elaborating the content of calls while grants are ongoing); 
  • Consolidate the recommendations to form field-specific action plans;
  • Assist with the implementation of the action plans;
  • Assist in elaborating field-specific indicators;
  • Support, monitor, and control implementation of the action plans;
  • Support the RIS3 evaluation process;
  • Report to the Cluster Board on the progress of work.

Members of the Working Groups 

In late 2014, 103 individuals from the business sector, the scientific community, and intermediaries were appointed to serve as members of the Working Groups.  The selection was the result of an intensive dialogue with the networks in Thuringia, the Thuringian ClusterManagement, and many further stakeholders.  Official appointments were issued by the Thuringian Ministry for Economic Affairs, Science and Digital Society for an initial term of three years.

Each Working Group has a spokesperson and a deputy spokesperson.  They are elected internally within the respective Working Group and function as chairpersons.  They are also responsible for strategic steering and represent their Working Group externally.  The respective spokespersons concomitantly sit on the Cluster Board as members and sit in as guest participants on the RIS3 Task Force, where they deliver regular reports on the activities of their Working Group.